Outstanding Faculty Adviser Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Outstanding Faculty Adviser Award

General Information

This award recognizes superior academic advising of undergraduate students.


To be considered for the Outstanding Faculty Adviser award, a faculty member must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a full-time faculty member
  • Has a sustained record of superior academic advising of undergraduate students

Since our professional advising staff takes care of most “regular” advising in the College now, you should perhaps think of those faculty involved in honors advising, exceptional career mentoring, or other special mentoring that faculty might be doing in your department.

Nominate a faculty member for this award.

Past Winners

2022 Amy Linch Teaching Professor of Political Science
2021 Heather McCoy French and Francophone Studies
2020 Carrie Jackson German and Slavic Languages and Literatures
2019 Amber Martin Applied Linguistics
2018 Andrew Peck Psychology
2017 AnneMarie Mingo African American Studies and Women's Studies
2016 Stacy Silver Sociology, Human Development and Family Studies, and Women's Studies
2015 David Shapiro Economics, Demography, and Women's Studies
2014 Scott T. Smith English and Comparative Literature
2013 Janet Lyon English
2012 Giuli Dussias Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese
2011 John Christman Philosophy
2010 Michael Berkman Political Science
2009 Rich Carlson Psychology
2008 William Cobb English
2007 Charlotte Holmes English
2006 Barton Browning Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
2005 Michael Anesko English
2004 Sydney Aboul-Hosn Comparative Literature
2003 Michelle Miller-Day Communication Arts and Sciences
2002 Jeannette D. Bragger French and Francophone Studies
2001 Dennis Gouran Communication Arts and Sciences and Labor Studies and Employment Relations
2000 Paul Clark Labor Studies and Employment Relations
1999 John W. Moore English
1998 Mary Rohrer-Dann English
1997 James F. Smith, Jr. Englsih
1996 Deborah L. Clarke English
1995 Linda Selzer English
1994 On-Cho Ng History, Asian Studies, and Philosophy
1993 George Franz History
1992 Paul Cornwell Psychology
1991 Marlene Soulsby Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature
1990 Sidney Elton
1989 Basil Karp Political Science
1988 Valerie Stratton Psychology
1987 Manfred Keune Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
1986 Jeanne Lutz Communication Arts and Sciences
1985 Richard Gregg Communication Arts and Sciences
1984 James Eisenstein Political Science
1983 Larry Spence Political Science
1982 Thelma Baker Anthropology
1981 Bruce Murphy Political Science
1980 Michael King Political Science
1979 Kathryn DeBoer Communication Arts and Sciences
1978 Elton Atwater Political Science
1977 Charles Cathcart Economics
1976 Arthur Goldschmidt History
Return to Top