Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching

You are here: Home / Awards / Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching

General Information

The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching, established in 1992, is typically awarded to two faculty members, each of whom has an extensive record of outstanding teaching and who provides teaching support or mentoring to other faculty.


To be considered for the Eisenhower Award, faculty members must have:

  • A full-time appointment at Penn State
  • A tenured appointment (typically with an academic rank of associate professor or professor)
  • Undergraduate teaching as a primary responsibility
  • A minimum of five years undergraduate teaching experience at Penn State

Research faculty, administrators, and those who primarily teach graduate students are not eligible for this award.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination

Past Winners

2013 Alicia Grandey Psychology
2006 David Shapiro Economics, Demography, Women's Studies
2004 Mark Morrisson English
2001 Douglas Anderson Philosophy
2000 Roger M. Downs Geography
1993 Thomas O. Beebee Comparative Literature and Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
1992 Robert E. Burkholder English
1991 Priscilla F. Clement History
Nancy S. Love Political Science
Return to Top