George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching

You are here: Home / Awards / George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching

General Information

The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching, named for the seventh president of the University (1882-1907), is presented each year to four faculty members who have devoted substantial effort to and developed a record of excellence in undergraduate teaching.


To be considered for the Atherton Award, faculty members must have:

  • A full-time faculty appointment at Penn State
  • Undergraduate teaching as a primary responsibility
  • A minimum of three years undergraduate teaching experience at Penn State

Research faculty, administrators, and those who primarily teach graduate students are not eligible for this award.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination

Past Winners

2019 Jill Wood Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies 
Kirk French Anthropology
2017 Brian Crosby Psychology
2012 Heather McCoy French and Francophone Studies
2011 Robert Burkholder English
Dirk Mateer Economics
2010 Mark Anner Labor Studies and Employment Relations and Political Science
Janet Lyon English and Women's Studies
2007 Carol Reardon History
2002 Linda Woodbridge English and Women’s Studies
2001 Richard Doyle English
2000 Robin Becker English and Women’s Studies
1999 Amy S. Greenberg History
1998 Robin Schulze English
1995 John Gutierrez Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese
Jennifer Jackson English
1994 Charlotte A.Holmes English
1993 Deborah L. Clark English and Women's Studies
1991 Paul B. Youngquist English
Return to Top