Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award

General Information

The Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award was created in February 1988 by the University. The award, sponsored by the Penn State Alumni Association, and given in honor of Dr. James Robinson, 1949, a devoted alumnus and former Alumni Council member, is designed to recognize a University faculty or staff member who promotes the concept of equal opportunity through affirmative action and/or contributes to enhancing the educational environment of the University through improving cross-cultural understanding.


The award, consisting of a $1500 stipend and a certificate, will be given in meeting one or more of the following criteria:

  • demonstrated commitment in the spirit of equal opportunity through affirmative action
  • demonstrated leadership in the elimination of discrimination through encouragement or understanding between persons of different races, sexes, age groups, ethnicity, or religious heritage
  • demonstrated commitment to meeting the special needs of students, faculty, or staff who are members of traditionally underrepresented groups

To be eligible for the award, full-time University faculty and staff must have at least two or more years of active University service.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination Suggest a staff member for nomination

Past Winners

2016 Borja Gutierrez Spanish
2015 Danna Jayne Seballos World in Conversation
2014 José Soto Psychology
2012 Shannon Sullivan Philosophy, Women's Studies, and African American Studies
Return to Top