Howard B. Palmer Faculty Mentoring Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Howard B. Palmer Faculty Mentoring Award

General Information

The Howard B. Palmer Mentoring Award was established in 1991 in honor of Dr. Howard Palmer who served as senior associate dean of the Graduate School from 1985 to 1991. The award is presented to a full-time faculty member who demonstrates "effective mentoring through guiding and nurturing the collegial and professional development of junior faculty."


To be considered for this award, a faculty member must meet the following criteria:

  • be a full-time faculty member with five or more years of active service at Penn State;
  • exhibit exemplary achievement in the effective mentoring of junior faculty.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination

Past Winners

2016 Carolyn Sachs Rural Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, and Sociology
2013 Nan Woodruff History
2011 Pamela Cole Psychology
2010 Caroline Eckhardt Comparative Literature
2007 D. Wayne Osgood Crime, Law, and Justice
2002 Bernard W. Bell English
1992 Dennis S. Gouran Speech Communication
Return to Top