Graduate Faculty Teaching Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Graduate Faculty Teaching Award

General Information

The Graduate Faculty Teaching Award recognizes faculty members for their outstanding teaching performance and their advising of doctoral students or terminal degree students (e.g. MFA). The award is for those who have not received the University's highest accolade for teaching and scholarship (e.g., Evan Pugh Professors, Distinguished Professors, or the Eisenhower and Lindback Awards).


To be considered for this award, a faculty member must meet the following criteria:

  • been a tenured member of the graduate faculty at Penn State for a minimum of seven years;
  • demonstrated excellence in the supervision of graduate students with their doctoral thesis work or culminating project.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination

Past Winners

2013 John Christman Philosophy
2009 Darrell J. Steffensmeier Sociology
2004 Susan Squier English
1996 Marie J. Secor English
1995 Earl E. Fitz Spanish, Italian and Portuguese
Return to Top