Alumni Association Dissertation Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Alumni Association Dissertation Award

General Information

The Alumni Association Dissertation Award provides funding and recognition to outstanding full-time doctoral students who have passed their comprehensive exams and have received approval of the dissertation topic, or to M.F.A. students in their final year. This award is considered to be among the most prestigious available to Penn State graduate students and recognizes outstanding achievement in scholarship and professional accomplishment.

For more information contact Keshia Kennelley () at 814 865 1439.


To be considered for this award, a graduate student must meet the following criteria:

  • completed all course work and language requirements;
  • completed the comprehensive examination;
  • received approval of the dissertation topic;
  • be registered for subj. 601 or nine credits (E.Ed. or M.F.A. students);
  • be within their final year of study.

Past Winners

2018 J. David Maxson Communication Arts and Sciences
Indira Turney Psychology
2017 Garrett Swan Psychology
Ryan Holroyd History
2016 Laura Brown English
Adriana Reyes Sociology
2015 Ryan Pollock Philosophy
Nathaniel Ratcliff Psychology
Craig Rood Communication Arts and Sciences
2014 Sophia G. Khadraoui French and Francophone Studies
Daniel T. Ragan Sociology
Matthew C. Wilson Political Science
2013 William Bryan History
Sara Marziolo Comparative Literature
Christopher Percival Anthropology
2012 Joseph Beeney Psychology
Stephen Merino Sociology
Jason Strandquist History
2011 Ersula Ore English
Robert Franklin Psychology
2010 Jonathan Greer History
Matthew Hall Sociology
Julianna Pacheco Political Science
2009 Jessica Suzanne Hayes-Conroy Women's Studies
Ashley Marshall English
Sonja Siennick Sociology
2008 Susan Bobb Psychology
Nathan Paul Devir Comparative Literature
2007 Jennifer Biedendorf Communciation Arts and Science
David Egan Political Science
Ben Feldmeyer Sociology
2006 Timothy Arner English
Amanda Dawson Psychology
Adetty R. Pirez de Miles Women's Studies
2005 Valentina Cesco History
Holly Dunsworth Anthropology
Return to Top